Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

A Beautiful Pest

Thanks to Museum Victoria’s Discovery Centre we were able to identify the fuzzy ‘butterfly’ in the last post. We thought it was a beautiful butterfly but it turns out to be the day flying Grapevine Moth Phalaenoides glycinae.

Mystery no more

Apparently it is a very serious pest for grape growers – and it gets worse. It was the reason for the introduction of the Common Myna Bird, a biological control gone wrong and a threat to our native bird life. Bad bug. Well, in fairness it didn’t decide to import grapes or Myna birds!

Anyway, today I started the serious business of decoding botanical plant names. I have put together a short list of the butterflies we’ve observed,  along with those we might be able to attract (as they have been identified in our area).  Now I’m identifying and reading up on their larval food plants. More on this next time!

I've decided this is the Greenish Grass Dart. Well, maybe. There are about 30 different little brown and orange grass darts in our area, so it's going to take a bit of work to know for sure!

In bloom today…

Chicago Peace

The blooms on Chicago Peace are usually more vivid than in this photo, but I think the intense heat of the last couple of days has ‘bleached’ it a little.

Scentimental Rose


Comments on: "A Beautiful Pest" (4)

  1. Hello,

    I enjoy butterflies in the garden as well and have created some for my clients as well. Please post about the plants that you decide to use for your butterfly garden. I live in Arizona and we grow many plants that are native to Australia.

    I found your blog on Blotanical and I would just like to extend a warm “Welcome”. I look forward to reading more.

    • Thanks for your lovely comments Noelle! I hope I can update later today on some of the plants I am going to use for the butterfly garden – my research has produced some surprises. I’m going to pop over to your blog soon and see what is growing in Arizona!

  2. Your blog and pictures are lovely. Both the roses and butterflies are gorgeous. Looking forward to more.

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Auntumn Belle! I haven’t had much luck with more butterfly photos in the last couple of days as they won’t sit still and pose for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

