Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

A journey of discovery

Australian Painted Lady - Vanessa kershawi - on a Buddleia

Research for the Butterfly Garden is already turning into a very exciting journey of discovery. ‘Decoding’ botanical plant names has resulted in more than one surprise.

As I’m not familiar with botanical plant names it is quite likely that I am getting a few things wrong, particularly when it come to plants that seem to have been reclassified more than once! I’m happy to be corrected if anyone notices a mistake.

The focus of my research so far has been larval food plants for the three most common butterfly visitors to our garden; The Australian Painted Lady – Vanessa kershawi, The Australian Admiral – Vanessa  itea and The Common Brown – Heteronympha merope

The larval food plant preferences of the Painted Lady are the kindest for the garden so far, so I’ll focus on those today.  The Painted Lady likes Chrysocephalum (Everlasting Daisy), Ammobium (Yass Daisy) and Chrysocephalum apiculatum (Yellow Buttons).  It is also fond of Gnaphaliums, but these are going to take a bit more research.

Larval food plants sourced from Braby, M.F – The Complete Field Guide to Butterflies of Australia.

I don’t currently have any everlasting daisies in my garden but will happily try growing them from seeds next spring.  ‘Yellow Buttons’ is said to thrive on neglect, so that at least will fit right in!

Meadow Argus

Today I was also excited to find another Butterfly visiting the garden, the Meadow Argus, so there’s another one to add to the research list!

Around the garden…

Quite late in the season I’ve sown some cherry tomatoes. The seedlings are looking quite happy after transplanting into bigger pots, so hopefully with some feeding I can get them going before it’s too late!

Cherry Tomato seedlings

The photo below is for Gururajr, it is one of the Japanese Maples growing in our garden. I’m not sure which variety it is,  as it was an unlabelled seedling we planted about eleven or twelve years ago.  We fondly refer to this tree as ‘Mother Maple’ as she self-sows very readily!

'Mother Maple'

Last of all is the inevitable rose photo, another David Austin Rose in need of a move to a slightly sunnier spot in the garden. This time it is William Shakespeare Rose.

Comments on: "A journey of discovery" (5)

  1. Hello,

    I just bought a William Shakespeare rose. I will be planting it today. I hope it looks as pretty as yours :^)

    • Thanks Noelle! The blooms are pretty, but getting scarce and the plant is getting a bit ‘leggy’, so yours will probably outshine mine! I think I’m going to have to create a new rose bed over winter as too many are getting shaded out!

  2. Your Japanese maple is beautiful! And it grew this big in only 10-12 years? Hopefully there is hope for mine someday to get this big. I love your moniker for it!

  3. Hi Tina and thank you for your lovely comments!

    Our lovely ‘Mother Maple’ is one of three we have planted and is the one that has been in the garden the longest – we brought her with us in a pot when we moved in!

    I’m sure yours will take off too. This one didn’t seem to do all that much for the first few years, but took off when it was about 6. I’ll have to go and see if you have a photo of yours on your blog 🙂

  4. I’ve got about three more years then:) Time! I get MOST impatient. Thanks for the info now I have a benchpoint. I did check Freecycle and they do have groups in Australia. It’s a cool thing.

Leave a Reply

