Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

A New Butterfly Visitor!

Possible eastern Iris-Skipper posing on a tap for perspective!

A couple of days ago this little skipper fluttered past me in my butterfly garden at high-speed. It caught my eye as it was quite different to the many orange-brown shaded skippers that visit. It was also a little bigger. I didn’t think I’d get a good look at it, but it was kind enough to pose on the garden tap for me for a few moments.

I’m not exactly sure which skipper it is, my best guest from having a look at my trusty ‘Field Guide to the Butterflies of Australia’ (M.F. Braby) is an Eastern Iris-Skipper Mesodina halyzia. I’ll have to see if I can confirm.

I also forgot to mention last time how wonderful the online resource that Bernie from My Dry Tropics Garden put me on to has turned out to be. It is Flora for Fauna if you missed her comment earlier. As the name suggests, it is not just about planting for butterflies.

For someone who is just starting to get their head around botanic names having something that can give you suggestions for the right larval plants at a click of a button is wonderful, so thanks again Bernie!

Having said that, I’m still going to persevere with teaching myself at least a few botanic names!

Comments on: "A New Butterfly Visitor!" (7)

  1. Nice photos. Isn’t it great when a butterfly kindly poses for you and lets you get a great shot! I have such trouble getting photos of them … they’re usually just too quick for me!

    It’s nice to see you spreading the word about Flora For Fauna … it is such a fantastic resource for Aussie gardeners! I’m just glad I could lead you in the right direction and now you’re leading others.

  2. I have the hardest time getting butterflies to pose for me. I am so glad you got this photo to share with us. I do use botanic names, but only because they were drilled into me by my horticulture professor. They do make life easier though because common names can be so confusing.

  3. Thank you Bernie and Noellle for your lovely comments. I do get a lot of blurry butterfly pictures too 🙂 But the Buddleia attracts so many it helps me to get at least a few sitting still!

    I’m hoping one day I’ll be able to show some nice photos that are the fruit of your plant suggestions and leads Bernie!

    As for Botanic names, it has opened up a whole new world of learning for me Noelle! It is exciting and inspiring to start to learn just a little about them. I can see that if you had a good handle on them it would make life much easier. I’m not sure if I’ll ever reach that point!

  4. This is so exciting! You must be thrilled. A brand-new visitor to the butterfly garden. 🙂 I have a terrible time taking any butterfly photographs! I think I’ve only managed one I was satisfied with ever. It’s their erratic flight pattern that works against us, which of course is the reason why such delicate beauties survive predators at all… still, maybe something that makes itself rare makes itself even more beloved when it stops a moment for us to enjoy. 🙂

  5. You’re spot on Meridith – I was very excited to spot this new little visitor! Now I just need to confirm it’s species and find out what it likes to eat best to keep it coming back. More research!
    I also agree about having these delicate beauties stop for a moment 🙂 I am entranced when they stop close enough for a good look as even the most common butterfly is such an amazing little creature!

  6. Hi! Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging (and to Blotanical, which is all kinds of amusement), and also thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment on the current discussion. As you can see, the garden blogging community is a great bunch of people, and we swap ideas, stories, suggestions and support in much the same way as we swap seeds and plants. That’s the fun of it all. I’ll definitely be back for further visits!

  7. Thanks for popping by Jodi! Blogging is certainly a wonderful new world for me and I am really enjoying being part of the community at Blotanical 🙂

Leave a Reply

