Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Anyone for worm tea?

The only people in the world who may actually say ‘yes’ to that question would have to be gardeners!

Ever wonder what's really in Vegemite?

After just over a month, the worms have well and truly settled in and are starting to produce ‘liquid gold’. That gold is of course, worm tea, or more accurately, worm wee and manure (‘manure’ does seem like a big word for a little worm, doesn’t it?)

Rich stuff. It's recommended to dilute at least 1 part to 4 parts water. However, I've also read it should not burn plants, even if applied neat.

Anyway, here are the latest ‘worm learnings’ from my trial and error composting worm bin:

1. Lime is fine.

The air vents in my old ‘re-constructed’ worm bin were missing the inserts to exclude flies. After a couple of weeks I did have a few vinegar flies starting to hover in the bin, which wasn’t helped by my overfeeding them in the settling period. However, the problem was easily solved by covering the air vents with some flywire and sprinkling some lime in the bin.

Not surprisingly, my tomatoes are the first to benefit from the worm wee!

2. Don’t drown the worms.

My worm bin is outside under a shady tree. The worm bin, which was meant to be designed for outdoor use, has vents in the lid as well as the sides, which I hadn’t paid much attention to. Recent rain resulted in quite a lot of water getting in. Luckily I discovered this before the poor worms had to swim for it!

3. Don’t bake the worms.

At this time of year we can go from a day of rain to a week of baking heat. I’ve had to ‘water’ the worms lightly a couple of times when the paper at the top of the worm bin was looking a bit dried out, but generally they seem to stay happily damp.

Yes, the flower buds are starting to open!

If you’re interested in starting up a worm bin/farm, there is some getting started info here and some other helpful links in my sidebar.

Comments on: "Anyone for worm tea?" (21)

  1. It looks very healthy, like one of those health food drinks, that taste like s..t! (Maybe it is worm poo, lol!)

  2. A bit difficult to enjoy my Green Tea when reading about your Worm Tea, lol. This worming adventure sounds interesting. I am growing big fat worms in my compost pile. I keep piling on the kitchen scrapes and they keep a coming to my area!

    I so enjoyed the pictures of your kitty. Looks like that kitty gets into a lot of trouble at times. My kitties never get into trouble, well, okay maybe a little trouble, okay, a lot at times……

    • Hello Skeeter, I guess both ‘teas’ are healthy natural brews…enjoy 😀
      The worm bin is great and I’m looking forward to lots more worm tea, but I would also like a lot more earth worms in my garden, so that is a bit more of a long term project. I have a few in my re-started compost bin, so that’s something anyway.
      Will have to see if you have some posts on your kitties. Possum does not really get up to much trouble, unless it involves sleeping on something that she shouldn’t – as she seems to snooze 23 hours out of 24!

    • skeeter said:

      If you go to the sidebar, to Labels, you can click on Cats or Pets to see my two black fur balls 🙂

  3. Wonderful stuff! We don’t have a worm box here yet, but we really should. Even if your liquid gold doesn’t burn plants when applied neat, it’s worth diluting it just so you can make the most of it! Your plants are going to be soooo happy!

    • Hello CVF – I’ve stretched it out as far as I can while still retaining it’s goodness. So far it’s just been enough for the tomatoes and a dash for a couple of other new plantings, but gradually there will be more worms and more wee 🙂

      I would be interested to read about your experiences if you do get a worm box in the future!

  4. I love using worm castings and teas… nice post!

  5. Hello DGG and thanks for dropping by 🙂 I haven’t discovered your blog yet, so Iwill have to pop by!

  6. I did a double take, as I misread the post as “Anyone for warm tea?” You are taking good care of your worms, and I am sure they will continue to reward you with great tea that all your plants will enjoy.

  7. Dear GG, This is an absolutely fascinating posting and one which, I believe, we should all take notice of. It is so important to keep returning goodness, in whatever form, to the soil to replenish that which is taken out. You seem to be doing very well on this front!

    Thank you so much for visiting my site, for leaving a comment and for picking my latest posting. It is all very much appreciated.

    • Hello Edith and thank you for your encouraging words!
      My soil certainly needs replenishing and I think I’m going to have to come up with something on a much larger scale than the worms can handle. But it’s a start!
      I did enjoy my visit to your blog – I’ll be back to read more soon!

  8. I’d love a wormery but they would definitely bake in the summer so it’s out of the question. But that worm tea looks drinkable … 🙂

  9. Just popped over to say hello… lovely blog and amazing to see tomato plants out already – especially when it is still so cold and wet here – no chance of many seedlings surviving … roll on the warmer days… Have a good weekend Miranda

    • Hello Miranda and thanks for popping by with your lovely comments 🙂 At least you can comfort yourself with knowing that when you are looking at your tomatoes growing my garden will be sleeping!

  10. Heidi, I think your worm tea is a wonderful development, and I’m appreciating learning from you. My worm experiment is in a tiny bucket in the house (too cold for them outdoors), and I’m really to the point now where I’m having to figure out precisely what to do with them — we are nearing the top of the bucket, and the other day when I went to put in scraps I saw a whole bunch of them at the top of the pile (they move through the scraps fast; don’t they?), and there’s ever so many more than I began with. I think I’ll have to start another bucket for a friend soon. 🙂

    My bucket just has moist crumbled compost, no way to extract the worm tea, too bad. Those tomatoes are going to love their afternoon tea!

    • A bucket full of hungry worms would be an excellent gift Meridith! Well, maybe not to everyone’s taste, but I think it’s a wonderful idea 😉
      I wonder if you could pick up an inexpensive bucket style drinks dispenser with a tap at the bottom? If you could then find something to form a free draining platform in it (upside down salad drainer?) then the worms and compost could sit happily on top of that and you could harvest the worm wee while extending the useable life of your worm bucket!

  11. Fascinating post! Thank you. I need to add this to my “Must Try” list. I make compost tea from horse-manure and it works well.

Leave a Reply

