Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

I’ve decided to try my hand at setting up another page of my blog as a ‘Rose Diary’.  The diary will not just be a record of the roses that are blooming, but how they are faring comparatively throughout the year. It will also look at the mistakes I’ve made with roses (which are beautifully forgiving creatures) and hopefully how I’ve learnt from those mistakes.

Devon Rose 3rd of March 2010

If all goes according to plan, the diary should also record a significant change to my garden in 2010 as I start to re-arrange the rose beds to give these plants the best chance of thriving.  Hopefully that is thriving without turning my garden into a forest of ugly sticks in the middle of winter!

You can pop in to the (only just beginning) rose diary via the ‘My Rose Diary’ tab at the top of this page. Ideas and suggestions are always most welcome!

Comments on: "Recording a Year of Roses" (18)

  1. Dear GG, What a splendid idea to keep a rose diary as a separate thing from your main weblog. I see from it you have made a good start.

    I am sure that you have the skill to create a very pretty rose garden – simply put together all those of the same colour and hue/tint for the greatest success. I do agree that some structure is necessary for the winter but again this could be a low hedge to your border or wooden obelisks, perhaps, for climbers and clematis.

    Have you considered underplanting with hardy geraniums?

  2. What a wonderful idea! If I’d kept a rose diary, then I’d be able to remember which variety of rose I had at our last house…the one rose I said would be the ONLY rose I’d dare to plant here. But I keep scratching my head, and can’t remember the name LOL. I’ll be sure to check in your diary from time to time, and maybe something will jog my memory!

  3. That sounds like a terrific idea to keep a diary and start a new page. We all love to look at roses and learn new things about them.

  4. What a great idea! I look forward to following the progress of your rose garden. The Devon rose is beautiful. I like the simple elegance of its blooms.

  5. Heidi, what a wonderful idea, to create a separate tab for a “Rose Diary.” I don’t know if I ever mentioned it, but roses were how I started out gardening. (Hey, maybe you’ve given me an idea for a post!) I fell for them hard, and learned the hard way that they are difficult to landscape with.

    I see you are growing some Austin roses, my favorites. That photo of Pat Austin is gorgeous. For landscaping, he suggests grouping three of his bushes together in a knot to get the look of a flowering shrub, and then you could plant around this grouping with shorter perennials. That might be a place to start.

    Personally, I still love formal rose gardens with box hedges, even knowing they are practically bare in winter. How lucky you are, though, to have 9 months of bloom. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    • Hello Meredith and thanks for some lovely suggestions.
      I like the idea of grouping some of the roses to give a bushier effect. I might just try that with some of them and I think Pat Austin is one that would lend itself just nicely to this idea!
      I do like the formal gardens too, but more to look at than to try and create, because I don’t think I could keep it looking ‘just so’. It’s going to have to be a slightly less formal arrangement for me 😉

  6. I just love roses and have had my share of successes and failures. I look forward to reading your diary and learning more :^)

  7. I like the idea of documenting a project over time this way… I’ll stay tuned to see how your roses fare. Lots of pictures will help you create the diary entries. I’m finding my best garden tool is a camera. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Hello Laurie and thanks for popping in here too 🙂 I am still puzzling a little over how best to present the diary, but I think your thoughts on photos are pretty spot on or it might be a pretty boring document!

  8. Kudos to you Heidi … you are way ahead of me. I love your idea of a Rose page and way of tracking your roses. I so not have enough roses to have a separate page but would love a wildlife page. I am so slow to figuring all this out. I want an overhaul to my blog. Thanks for the inspiration. Your links all work! ;>)

    • Hello Carol 🙂 I’d love to see your wildlife page if you put it together – the combination of your beautiful photos and varied wildlife already has me fascinated!
      I’m gathering that it’s hard to have a blog ‘just so’. There is already things I’d like to change about mine – and I’ve only had it for a couple of months!

  9. This is a brilliant idea Heidi! Mind if I do it too??
    I’ve just been lucky enough for my new climbing Mr Lincoln to flower for the first time and doing something like this regularly will remind me how quickly its come along!
    I’m interested to see how you’re going to redesign your rose gardens – keep us posted with the winter rennovations.

  10. Hello Karly! Of course you can join in – you don’t need my permission 😀 But it would be lovely to have company in recording how the roses progress.
    I bought a rose labeled ‘Mr Lincoln’ (not a climber) and now I’m not sure if that is actually what it is, so I’d be very interested to see photos of yours!

Leave a Reply

