Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Rose Diary – Week One

Did I mention that I reserved the right to change my mind about how I was going to go about this? No? Oh well…I’ve changed my mind!

For a start I don’t seem to be able to add new posts to my rose diary page. Ooops. Still working on this and will move posts in there later if I can!

I was going to go back and start the diary from January. It doesn’t make any sense from the garden’s point of view to do that because the roses don’t start any new phase in January, but it made some sort of sense to me from my calendar focused perspective. After all, this was meant to be ‘A Year in a Gippsland Garden’ and if I am to start my rose diary in March that kind of mucks things up a bit, doesn’t it?

Never mind,  I may just  have to come up with a creative new title for my blog…something like ‘A Year and Another Year in a Gippsland Garden’

'Devon' rose is now on the 'lost roses' list as I can't find any reference to a rose of that name!

Another small problem I’ve  encountered is how many different roses I have. They come in at 40+, so a long list of what they are all doing every post is going to be more than a little dull. In fact, I’m becoming increasingly concerned that the whole venture is going to be more than a little dull for everyone else but me. Feel free to wander off and get a coffee.

Anyway, even if I am talking to myself, here is the new plan for now:

I am starting my rose calendar in March 2010.

Each week of each month I will update, in order, one of  four rough groupings of roses based on their current location.   I’ll give details of each rose first time round, but just update if it is blooming or not with a photo if possible from there on in, so it won’t be so long winded. Occasionally I might focus on a favourite rose. If you are still awake and paying attention you will soon see there is no rhyme or reason to the current plantings.

The groupings will be: By the house, The Elder bed, By the shed, and ‘The lost roses’.

At some stage in winter I will move all the roses about so the whole plan will be turned upside down and confusion will reign.

Right, so here is week one, the roses ‘By the house’ on the 7th March:

Double Delight - 7th March 2010

Rose/Breeder: Double Delight (?)
Type/colour: Hybrid Tea Rose – cream with dark pink edging
Position North facing side of house – morning and midday sun
Condition: Quite healthy, but slow growing
Perfume: Yes, lovely!
In flower? Yes, blooms and buds present

Pierre de Ronsard March 2010

Rose/Breeder: Pierre de Ronsard (Meilland)
Type/colour: ‘cabbage’ style blooms on climber – white with soft pink edging
Position North facing side of house – morning sun
Condition: Excellent. Strong growth and glossy leaves
Perfume: Faint.
In flower? Yes, lots of blooms and buds present

Pat Austin 7th March 2010

Rose/Breeder: Pat Austin (David Austin)
Type/colour: English Rose – Copper orange
Position West facing side of house – Afternoon sun
Condition: Excellent. Strong growth and glossy leaves
Perfume: Yes.
In flower? Yes, lots of blooms and buds present
Rose/Breeder: Scentimental  (Tom Curruth)
Type/colour: Floribunda – red and white bicolour
Position North facing side of house. Shaded out.
Condition: Poor, not surprising with virtually no sun
Perfume: Yes, spicy, but not strong.
In flower? Yes. But only a couple of blooms and no buds

Mermaid Rose

Rose/Breeder: Mermaid (?)
Type/colour: Large single petal old rose climber – pale yellow
Position West facing side of house – Afternoon sun
Condition: Excellent. Very vigorous and on a mission to take over the world.
Perfume: No.
In flower? Yes, a few blooms and getting ready for another flush
Rose/Breeder: Valencia (Kordes)
Type/colour: Large flowered Hybrid Tea Rose – mid orange
Position West facing side of house – Afternoon sun
Condition: Quite good, but being overtaken by neighboring Mermaid rose
Perfume: Yes, sweet.
In flower? No, but a couple of buds present

New 'Kleopatra' - March 2010

Rose/Breeder: New Kleopatra (?)
Type/colour: Hybrid tea rose -Strong yellow with dark red edging
Position West facing side of house – Afternoon sun
Condition: Very good, strong new growth
Perfume: No
In flower? Yes
Comments on: "Rose Diary – Week One" (20)

  1. You just feel free to change your mind whenever you wish, my dear, because we’re gardeners, and we’re closely related to cats, so we change our minds like others change their hair colour. I used to not like certain plants, and now my gardens are full of them. Your roses are wonderful, though many of them I don’t know or couldn’t grow (we don’t bother with hybrid teas and anything else on grafted roots, which is how many of the more finicky stuff is propagated here).

    • Hello Jodi – Yes I think I am related to a cat – one that would like to curl up and snooze in a warm sunny spot all day 🙂

      Part of my journey with the roses from here on in is going to be learning more about the various types of roses and understanding a little more about what is hybridised and how. I’d like some more ‘old’ roses, but I’m a bit worried they’ll take over!

  2. Your roses are lovely! You have some of my favorites listed there. And by the way, you will find you have complete freedom over your blog! It should be enjoyable for you first and foremost! Good luck!

    • Hello Sheila and thank you for your lovely comments!
      I think I’m still in the ‘sorting out’ stage of what I want my blog to be and am experimenting with organisation, which is a bit of a difficult concept for me 😀

  3. I agree. Not being able to change your mind would be like saying, “that’s it…my garden is done”. There’s no such thing, a garden is never done. Your garden, and your blog, will be in constant flux, a permanent state of evolution, exactly how they should be.

    Your roses are lovely. Your Pat Austin rose has such a beautiful color. I’ve grown a few David Austin roses in the past and really loved them, almost as much as I loved Rugosa roses. (I often adopt a ‘thrive or die’ approach to gardening with roses, so the super-hardy Rugosas always were a favorite). Sadly I have no roses here at all at the moment, so I’ll live vicariously through yours for now 🙂

    • Hello CV! I don’t know about the blog, but I can’t even imagine getting to a stage where my garden would be ‘done’ – there is just too much work to do!
      As for the roses, I am very lucky with the growing conditions here. The roses get no supplimentary water once established and are only fed at the rare times I think to do it. I don’t spray for anything. By and large they all survive and some even manage to thrive. I’d love to say it’s my great skill that does it, but it’s not and I think it’s the luck of my location!

  4. Oh, I just love roses and cannot get enough of hearing about them. I used to have 40 roses and each one of them was different. I always thought that rose beds with the same types of roses was just so boring. I can’t wait to see more of your featured roses.

    • It’s lovely to hear that someone else wanted a bit of everything when it came to roses to Noelle! I didn’t think these posts would be of much interest, so it’s lovely to get your encouraging comments 🙂

  5. Good for you for changing your mind sometimes, Heidi. I think life would be too dull if we stuck with all our first thoughts about things; don’t you? Yuck.

    Anyway, beautiful rose shots. My sister’s favorite rose is Double Delight. But I’d choose Pat Austin any day. She’s lovely, and her scent is wonderful (but not as good as Perdita, an Austin rose that I grew once upon a time, and it was the best-smelling rose ever, the perfume of paradise). I’m so glad she’s doing well for you!

    • Hello Meredith! Double Delight and Pat Austin are two of my favourites 🙂 I’ve got a few other Austin roses I’m yet to introduce, but I haven’t grown Perdita. I’ll have to head off to the rose nursery and have a smell of one!

  6. Oh, I love this. I am a little afraid of roses, so I’m going to stay tuned to see if one comes across that might fit in here.

    • Hi Jess! Roses are easy if you’ve got the right conditions I think (after all, they wouldn’t survive my garden if they weren’t hardy!) Hopefully you will find one that fits in well at your place 🙂

  7. Nell Jean said:

    Lovely, the roses.

    A year that starts in March can go until there are no more roses to blog about. Who is to say how you should indicate a ‘year’? The school year has a summer vacation. When winter comes, the rose year can have a break if there’s nothing to blog about.

    • Hello Nell Jean and thank you for appreciating my roses.
      When you put it like that it sounds so sensible! I was worried about what to do if ‘nothing’ was happening with the roses, but fair enough, they can have a vacation!

  8. So jealous of all your roses! 😀 Mine just get such horrible diseases. I’m very interested in your rose blogs, no need to get up and get a coffee! 😀

  9. How lovely your garden is with those lots of roses, oooh! I cant imagine the works having lots of them, as in the pruning, watering, etc, etc. But it is enchanting to be inside with those scents around you, sooooo lovely really. We can imagine we are fairies wiht all roses around. The kids can even have a garden tour in your area. If only i am near those places like yours. thanks.

    • Hello Andrea 🙂 It might be hard to believe, but the roses really aren’t that much work! I’m sure that they will look a lot nicer when I put a bit more time into them, but they are very forgiving and hardy (in my growing area anyway, I guess it is not so easy for gardeners where it is very wet or very humid).
      You are right about the scents, it is wonderful to bring a vase full indoors – the perfume fills the house on warm days!

  10. I actually liked the conversation you were having with yourself. I do it myself at times but am not so adept at putting it all into words. Those charts with all the info are excellent. Keeping a rose diary on here (under your terms of course) is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

