Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Here we go again!

I’m not too proud to ask for wishes of good luck. Or advice. Maybe it should be the other way around, but never mind πŸ˜‰

It's purchased seeds for now, but I hope I'll have more luck with seed saving this year.

The thing is that my fingers are itching to get back into growing tomatoes again. Yes, I know it’s still only August and frosts will be around for a while yet, but I have a sunny window sill and a covered area…and well… I just need to be growing tomatoes again!

These little tomato seeds have a lot of hope invested in them!

This year I am going to try growing four different varieties of tomatoes. No, I don’t know where I’m going to put them all because that would be sensible and I can’t be caught developing those kind of habits!

OK, so some of the tomato choices are already made and seeds put in seedraising trays on a sunny sill with the vain hope that the cats won’t tip them up. So far I have Amish Paste and Cherry Cocktail sitting alongside some capsicum and basil in a big tray. I am about to get some more Tommy Toes seed because I’ve somehow lost the last lot of these seeds and I’m determined not to let a tomato get the better of me.

Any recommendations for one last one to try?Β  I’ve finally treated myself to a ‘Digger’s club’ membership, so I can order quite a good variety or heirloom seeds.

Oh and just to change the subject a little, I have a lovely new Lumix camera courtesy of my tax return. It’s just a point and shoot one, but I’m quite taken with it!Β  Here are a few early pictures from the garden (still getting the hang of it all).

Self sown pea that grew from some pea straw mulch.

Hellebore...not sure of the variety.

Rosemary in flower.

A sunny little viola.

Tete-a-tete daffodils are springing up everywhere right now.

Heidi.

Comments on: "Here we go again!" (17)

  1. Only too pleased to wish you lots of luck with your tomato growing endeavours … there’s always room somewhere, you just haven’t looked hard enough!!!

    Don’t know much about tomatoes, sorry, but I do know the Digger’s Club is a great source for heritage plants … so I’m sure you’ll find something in their catalogue.

    Did you ever get the heritage tomato seed packets from the Burke’s Backyard magazine … they were free! I still have my packet and one other that was a give-away … maybe the names on that might be useful .. or I can send them and you can have the seed packets!!!

    Anyway … there’s ‘Prosperity’, ‘Yellow Oxheart’, ‘Yellow Stuffing’ (strange name!!) and ‘College Challenge’ (stranger!) They’re supposed to be rare heritage ones … and reportedly delicious!!!

    Lovely photos with your new camera!!

    • Hello Bernie πŸ™‚

      I missed that seed giveaway, but they are indeed some unusual tomato names you have there…Oxheart is the only one I’ve heard of before!

      Can you grow tomatoes as far North as where you are? If so, you should hang on to the packets in case you every get the urge to find out what a ‘Yellow Stuffing’ looks like in the flesh! I’ll be sure to look them up when I’m putting my seed order in and might just end up looking for a place to squeeze those in!

  2. Hi, Heidi ~ I have the same itch. I planted some tomato plants outside for a fall batch…hopefully. We have a long growing season in Austin, TX. I hope you have success!

    Love those tax returns and your photos look very pretty and clear. πŸ™‚

    • Hiya Amy πŸ™‚
      I’ll have to keep my ear out to check the progress of your fall tomatoes. Two harvests in a year? You must have a long season in Austin! I discovered last year what happens around here if you get your tomatoes in too late 😦

  3. Oh, wow, new camera, beautiful first shots! And tomato babies on the way. Yay! You know, I’m sure, that I am all about Cherokee Purple, think it’s amazing and no one should be without it. We have also discovered two new-to-us varieties this year that make my “list” now: one is Matt’s Wild Cherry (basically a stabilized version of the original wild cherry plant from South America from which all tomatoes were domesticated, and they are amazing teensy tiny bites of sunshine, we are in love!), and the other is Black Russian, which has a complex flavor I’m at a loss to describe yet. Dark and smoky and even a bit — hmm, spicy? Yeah, it’s hard to nail down tomato flavor, altho I’m getting better at it.

    So excited for you, Heidi. I just know you’re going to have an amazing tomato-growing experience this year. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, and/or Yellow Pear tomato, which is adorable cute and super easy with no problems. Only difficulty is, people differ on whether it’s bland & tasteless or merely mild and pleasant. I think it’s a mild flavor that works well with everything, and looks adorable in the harvest basket and on the table. πŸ™‚

    • Hello Meredith πŸ™‚ Hmm…now I’m thinking I might need to find space for six…maybe eight varieties!

      No, on second thoughts, I better show at least some restraint πŸ˜‰ But I will add all of those to my ‘research’ list. I know I can get the Black Russian variety and I think I have come across the name Cherokee Purple (or maybe it’s your blog I am thinking of!) They all sound wonderful, but you’ve already all but sold me on a tomato that tastes smoky and almost spicy!

  5. Heidi – those photos are incredibly vivid! I’d say you’ve found your way around that new camera really well!

    Best wishes with those brave little tomato seeds… (I’m still a really big chicken when it comes to veggies, and haven’t braved ‘that’ kind of gardening yet — probably the trauma of seeing a big, fat tomato worm one time on a neighbor’s plant. I’m such a wuss…) ;D

    • Hi Shyrlene πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the lovely compliment, but I think the wizzardry of photo technology came up with the results for me!

      Ewwww. Tomato worms! Given my little crop didn’t ripen outdoors last year, I’m yet to face the horrors of an insect attack on my ‘matoes.

      As for growing veges, I’d actually told myself in very stern terms that I wasn’t allowed to experiment with veges until I sorted out the rest of the garden. I don’t seem to be sticking to my own rules, but I am having fun!

  6. Heidi, As we move inexorably toward fall here, it is so much fun to see you embracing spring! Good luck with your tomatoes.

    • Hello Jean πŸ™‚ and thanks for the good wishes!

      Yes Spring has been on the move early around here, but as I sit and type we are having a very wintery wet day. I’m looking forward to seeing your garden marking the changes of the season!

  7. Heidi: While I can not give you any advise about veggie planting since I don’t grow any in my garden even as much as I wanted, I do love your pictures you took with your new camera! Isn’t it fun to play with a camera, and feel good about how nice the plants looked in the picture?

    I did not know rosemary has flowers! I grow some rosemary in my garden, wonder when I can see some flowers out of it! Gardening is just full of surprise and FUN!

    • Hello Ami!

      Gardening is certainly full of surprises, I agree!

      It is late winter here and the garden is just feeling the very first flushes of spring, so maybe it is around that time of year in your part of the world that you should check to see if your rosemary is flowering πŸ™‚ They are only small flowers (which stand out more on my plant because the plant is so small!) so it isn’t hard to miss them!

      Thank you for your lovely comments about the new camera’s photos πŸ™‚

  8. Well, as yet, I’ve never met a tomato I didn’t like. Although I do admit, I’ve had some do much better than others. For something a little different, I love some of the black tomato varieties, like Black Pear, or Japanese Black Trifele. Most are cool season varieties, so for us this year maybe we should have planted more! The Black Pear has a slightly smoky flavor, great to pair with fish, or just tossed in a salad. They’re packed with tomatoey flavor, and the color is more mahogany brown than black for most.

    Your new camera is doing a fabulous job by the way, and I can’t wait for daffodil season to roll around here again. Although first, our tomatoes need to ripen! πŸ˜›

    • Hello Clare!

      OK, I shall add Black Pear to the research list too! Although, my Digger’s Club membership and catalogue is taking some time to turn up so I’m fair hopping with anticipation!

      As for the daffies, they seem to be having one of the best seasons ever this year, which is strange as I had to transplant quite a few while they were already begining to emerge. I was sure the transplants wouldn’t flower, but they are blooming their little hearts out!

  9. Heidi,

    Your post is an example of one of the reasons I love blogging. To see your world moving towards spring, when I am seeing colors changing on trees along the hillside. What a good time to get a new camera and i love your first efforts… especially the little drops of water on the pea flower stems. Good luck with your tomatoes and all the little seedlings you begin to grow. Since I am not seeing any rabbits lately I may even begin a fall veggie garden. Happy near Spring to you!

    • Thanks for the warm wishes Carol!

      I hope you do get a chance to get a veggie garden in, but I don’t envy you having to deal with hungry bunnies! The worst I have to deal with is our pair of ducks who might just decide to pull out a seedling to see if there is a tasty worm underneath!

      Happy ‘near fall’ in return to you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

