Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

I was going to say that my garden has been waking from her slumber over the last few weeks, but if she slept at all, she really had only the briefest of cat-naps.

One of my Japanese maples just starting to unfurl its first new leaves.

In winters past I would have said that nothing much happens from July to August, but now that I’m actually paying attention I can see that nothing stops around here, it just changes gears. And right now spring is notching up through the gears at a rapid pace.

Just a few photos of early spring to share this time round, winter coughs and colds have been playing havoc at our house, so changes in the garden are thanks to the efforts of spring digging her toes in, not me digging my fingers in the earth. I just hope I can get back out there before she turns her attention more fully to the weeds!

Sweet smelling hyacinth

Dutch crocus

This is the first year I’ve tried growing Dutch crocus, they are very pretty, but I made the mistake of planting them in my lawn and they are so tiny that they look quite lost. I might try transferring them to some pots for next year.

I love this time of year for the pansies and violas cheering up the garden.

Tiny tete-a-tete are having a great year.

cheers,

Heidi

Comments on: "Spring digs her toes into the earth" (29)

  1. Heidi–I love the pictures especially the ones involving the emerging daffodils. We are on the latter end of summer here. How lucky for me to enjoy Spring through your eyes!

  2. Absolutely beautiful photos, Heidi. You’re so right, there’s plenty happening in your garden right now 🙂
    And I love the title of this post!

  3. Loving spring again, I can’t wait. I agree with you that a few crocus in the lawn can be lost, that is why I have ordered 1,000…..

  4. As we’re sliding toward autumn here, it’s quite fun seeing what’s going on in your garden at the beginning of spring. I feel like I’m getting a sneak peek at our next spring. I love the color of your yellow hyacinth, makes a lovely change from the purple ones I always see, and I love their fragrance. Such a shame they haven’t yet invented scratch-‘n-sniff blogs 😛 I need to source my bulbs for spring soon, and am thinking of adding some Tete-a-Tetes to mix in with the Dutch Masters I planted last year. I can’t wait for spring!

    • Hello Clare, I think adding in some tete-a-tete bulbs is a great idea. Mine have been in for about three years now and have really started to multiply. The way they give a different dimension to the taller and larger varieties of daffs is just delightful!
      You might be looking forward to Spring, but I’m looking forward to seeing the autumnal changes in your garden!

  5. Another lucky gardener on the other side of the world heading for spring. I can almost smell that hyacinth.

  6. The air is chilly here and I can see some trees beginning to lose leaves to brown and true colors. Your spring photos are so wonderful … Happy Spring from the other side of the world about to enter fall. ;>)

  7. Your spring blooms are so pretty! I would like to jump right into spring…if I could.

  8. Hello Amy 🙂 I know it seems like ages away right now, but it will be here before you know it once again!

  9. So refreshing to see Spring as we are winding up our Summer and tumbling into Fall. Isn’t this world an amazing place? I enoyed your perspective and your pictures.

  10. Spring flowers… How beautiful! It’s time to go buy bulbs! This is what my last post is about.

  11. Heidi !! Your flowers are so sweet! I’m living vicariously through your spring… it’s so refreshing (as we go into autumn)!

    I hope you don’t mind, but I put a link to your blog in my latest post today?! I was talking about the ‘Blogosphere’ and referred to the blogs that inspire me. 🙂 –Shyrlene

  12. Oh, Heidi, it’s lovely! I admit to being a bit jealous — spring’s my favorite season. Gardening also brought me to a fuller awareness that nothing ever *stops* exactly, but just, as you say, “changes gears.” May you enjoy every moment of it gearing up for summer!

    (I don’t know if you’ve ever tried it, but I like interplanting bulbs with pansies. A memorable pairing one year were those purple crocus with golden pansies to match the crocus’ hearts. 🙂

    • Hello Meredith!

      I did plant some little ‘Tinkerbell Blue’ violas with some of my little Tete-a-tete daffies this year, but something has been eating some of my violas and pansies (which has never really happened before) so they look quite tattered!

      I do love the idea of the purple crocus with the yellow pansies – that would be a wonderful display of colour! I might try a combination like that next year (and hope that the little critters that are eating my pansies don’t come back!)

  13. Happy Spring, Heidi! I feel sad as summer comes to an end here, but your lovely post reminded me that it will all start over again in a few short months. Love the daffodils. Pam x

  14. Heidi, I loved seeing your spring buds and blooms — a refreshing change from the sweltering heat here that has many plants giving up for the season.

  15. We dug up and redesigned our front beds this summer and I dug up a lot of bulbs. Like you, I’m going to plant them in pots this year. Could be interesting though, since they are all mixed up now. Surprises in the spring for us. Now just the winter to get through again here, just as you have gotten past it now.

    • Hello Helen, yes, I forgot to remember what bulbs I transplanted to where too – so they were all largely ‘surprises’ this year! I’ll look forward to seeing what comes up in your garden in the Spring!

  16. lovely to see the spring bulbs. I’m looking forward to the warmer weather , it has been a surprising cold and wet winter.

Leave a Reply

