Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Identification help please!

Hello everyone,

I have a lovely plant in my garden that we picked up a few years ago. We promptly lost the tag for it as soon as we brought it home and now no one can remember what it is . But I’d love to know what it is!

(NB: All photos enlarge if you click on them.)

It is a fairly slow growing woody shrub, with pointed and grooved leaves that are mid green and manage to be both glossy and hairy at the same time. It flowers in clusters, starting as small pink and slightly waxy buds opening into sweetly scented white flowers.  It is a deciduous plant and the leaves change colour to a beautiful orangey red for the autumn.

Unfortunately I butchered it a bit as I pruned it back in a hurry to move it a few months ago. It is recovering well, but not much by way of flowers this year.

I’m sure someone out there will instantly recognise it! Please let ne know if you do!

Cheers, Heidi

Comments on: "Identification help please!" (13)

  1. Well I don’t know that it is instant, but google images Viburnum carlesii, it could be that.

    • Thank you Deborah 🙂
      I’ve looked up Viburnum carlesii and it looks to be spot on in both apperance and description! It’s great to finally be able to put a name to this lovely plant.

  2. ‘Pretty’ is all I can say. A lot of help I am…huh?

  3. I agree with Deborah. When I saw the flower cluster in the third photograph, the first thing that popped to mind was a Viburnum, at least in overall flower structure. As to species though…I’m not much help, sorry.

    • Hi Clare,
      I’m a bit embarrased now because I have another viburnum growing (It’s one of the ‘snowballs’ – Viburnim macrocephalum – I’m almost sure) in my garden and din’t make any connection at all. But they do look quite different!

  4. Heidi: Compare the leave structure to other varieties, that may help identify. Also I cut the following from a bulletin about Viburnum.

    (Plants usually need 3-5 years to start blooming and fruiting
    Be aware that pruning will reduce the fruit production)

    Has your plant ever had fruit or berries?

    Google Search comes up with lots of interesting information.

    Have a great day,
    John

  5. My guess is also viburnum, if so, I’ll bet the fragrance is lovely , too!

  6. I was going to say “snowball”, but that sounded so unprofessional. So I’m glad to see others have said Viburnum.

  7. Sorry i am late with this! I have been so busy at work and with other things, I fell behind with some of my blogging. I have viburnum cariesii, or Korean spice viburnum, growing in my yard. I am positive that is what you have. It’s a wonderful shrub. i hope yours will grow and prosper!

  8. Dear Heidi, What a pretty shrub. I don’t have one, but now I want one. Pam x

  9. dancingwithfrogs said:

    What a great blog!
    I was sent a link to your worn farm post by a guy I met on the weekend. I organised the first meeting of an SGA Gardening POD in our area, and along with all the talk of veggies, fruit trees and chickens (they were very interested in my gerls) a couple of the guys unclogged my worm farm. I was so grateful!

    Today I’m very excited. I think I’m getting my own bees!!!

    • Hello ‘dancingwithfrogs’ and sorry I am so slow to reply! Thanks for such lovely comments. I’d be very interested to hear more about your bees – we are thinking of getting some soon too!

Leave a Reply

