Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Blissful Bees

Given I wandered off for a few months, you might not know that we now have a hive of honeybees.  They are the familiar introduced european honeybees.

The bees arrived at our place just before Christmas and have settled down to being incredibly industrious. I guess that is the way of the bee, but they can be quite funny in the morning before the sun is really warm on their hive. They seem to give a good ‘I’ve just out of bed and haven’t had my first coffee, so leave me alone!’ look.

Anyway, we were pretty fortunate, even before the hive arrived, to have lots of regular pollinating visitors  (no spraying). I was a little worried that the honeybees, known for being aggressive when food is scarce, may cause a problem for our native buzz pollinating blue banded bees. But if anything I think I’ve noticed more of them around this year too – resulting in lots of pollinated tomatoes too!

Lately I have been having great fun watching the pollen dusted honey bees blissfully hop from flower to flower on our Crown Prince of Whangaparaoa pumpkin ( I hadn’t realised until now is a variety from New Zealand which is probably a bit daft on my part given its name).

Not surprisingly it looks like we’re in for a bumper crop!

Comments on: "Blissful Bees" (8)

  1. HI: John was here, just looking around and catching up with you. Enjoyed my visit.

    Have a great day,
    John

  2. Yay bees! Is this a hive you built? Or a hive that set itself up in your garden (a feral colony)? As in, are you beekeepers now, or kept by bees? 😉 We’re adding bees soon. I have the hives built, but am STILL waiting for the darned rain to stop so I can get them painted! Better be soon, our bees are scheduled to be here in just a few weeks. I love watching the bees in the squash blossoms. They get so drenched in pollen, it’s amazing they can still fly!

    • Hi Clare,

      I did forget to mention that pertinent point didn’t I?!

      The bees are living in a ‘prefab’ insulated hive. I’m not the beekeeping member of our household, but I’ve been told that these particular hives help with the extremes in temperatures that the bees may struggle to cope with (while we don’t get the very cold, we can get a few very hot days). I’ll have to organise my photos and do more of a post on life at the hive!

      I’m looking forward to reading more about the arrival of bees at your place when the time comes 🙂

  3. Welcome back! I am glad you are well and having fun with the pollinators. The bees in the squash blossoms are certainly enjoying themselves. I like to watch bees. Today there must have been two dozen bumble bees flying around the little sweet flowers on my burford holly. They were so busy, they didn’t seem to notice me standing close by.

  4. Bees really are amazing. Good for you. I do my best too not to kill off the natural wildlife with sprays and such. I’m continuously surprised at the wildlife in the middle of an urban area too. Circle of life right in the back yard.

    • Hiya Jess, I’m coping a few losses as a result of the no-spray policy at the moment. The harlequin bugs just loooove my tomatoes, so I have to keep telling myself it’s worth tolerating so the good bugs are left to go about their business. Or buzziness as the case may be 😀

Leave a Reply

