Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Yes, the fully formed butterflies have ‘arrived’ in the Gippygarden!

Butterfly No.1 letting her wings dry and stretch.

Yes, two beautiful Monarch/Wanderer butterflies have emerged. The first appeared the very next day after the last post. The slightly transparent chrysalis became increasingly transparent over the next 12 hours and suddenly a new butterfly was here. The second butterfly made her appearance today. They are both female.

Butterfly No2 moving outdoors

I’d love to know where they will go from here. The weather has started to cool a fair bit and it only just scraped over the 16 degrees suggested before letting the second butterfly free today. Will they overwinter near by? Will they head back to New South Wales or Queensland? I wish I had a crystal ball and could follow their journey!

Have a great weekend,

Heidi

Comments on: "The Monarchs have emerged!" (23)

  1. Maybe they’ll fly up here…they usually appear in late summer. Do they go back to Mexico? I have milkweed in my garden waiting for them;-)

  2. Hi Jan – wouldn’t that be wonderful?! I’ve only started reading up on them, so I don’t know if some of them do go all the way home again or they keep their migration within the bounds (but still amazing range) of the East coast of Aus. I must find out more!

  3. How lucky to be able to see the larvae turn to butterflies! I have been following two larvae in my garden and hoping that I get to see their adult forms soon. Great photos!

    • Hi Chandramouli, I can still barely believe that we not only saw the caterpillars transform to such beautiful jewelled chrysalides, but the stunning butterflies emerge as well! I’ll look forward to hearing more about yours 🙂

  4. How lovely to see Monarchs in your land! Wanderers . . . that they are. Native to North and South America . . . I could tell you where ours go but have no idea where these beauties will fly to. Great photos!

  5. How lucky that you are able to witness the emerging of the monarchs! They are beautiful! You took the nice photos of them too since I know it is not that easy to capture a butterful in the camera.

    • Hi ami – I do feel very lucky, I had hoped to see a Wanderer on the wing, but never expected to see one go through the cycle from catterpillar to adult butterfly – I’m still amazed 🙂

  6. Awesome! I raised over 200 last summer, across the pond, or one of the ponds. Is the Pacific also a pond like the Atlantic?

    • Hi Benjamin, well 200 is certainly a big jump from our 2, but even to see one go through this stage is delightful enough for me!
      I like the idea of the Pacific being yet another ‘pond’ like the Atlantic, to the great migrators it probably is just that!

  7. Heidi, I never get tired of looking at these butterflies; how delightful to have them doing their amazing transformation in your garden.

    • Hi Jean, I don’t think I would ever tire of them either, but right now I am just basking in the delight have seeing them in the garden and the neighbourhood just this once, as it may not happen again!

  8. How lucky you are to witness such a miracle! I am waiting for them to arrive in my garden but it is still a little early. Gorgeous photographs!

    • Hello Karin and thanks for dropping by (and by doing that giving me a chance to find your lovely blog 🙂 )
      I certainly hope I get to see these beauties again, Ill be looking out for them next March!

  9. Heidi, Great show, You got them as they emerged. Would be interesting to find out their migration habit if they have one.

    You might want to look at Monarch Butterfly Journey North.
    http://www.learner.org/jnorth/monarch/News.html
    You could even report your sighting there.

    Have a great day,
    John

    • Hello John and thanks very much for the link – I will read it with great interest as I am thirsty to learn more about these beauties and my couple of butterfly books don’t tell me a lot.
      My daughter has been inspired to do her own little project too, so I’ll be sharing it with her!

  10. Wonderful news Heidi! How exciting, and beautiful photos too!

  11. Dear Heidi, Amazing photos. I can’t wait for the monarchs to return to my part of the world. P x

  12. Oh wow – how beautiful – tell them to come up and visit me for the winter – its nice and warm here! fascinating – I look forward to following along to see what happens next.

  13. Hello Gillian, I have been wondering – do you tend to get them in your part of the world? It would be interesting to know if they have come all the way down from your locale!

  14. Hi Heidi and Jan, I have had a few of these in my garden too lately – I look forward to hearing the results of your research about where they go over winter. It would be amazing if they fly to the northern hemisphere. It doesn’t seem likely that they are strong enough. cheers, catmint

Leave a Reply

