Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Driftwood

At this time of year, as I feel the seasons turn I  seem to give way to a bit of melancholy.

I think I’ll just go with it this year knowing it won’t last long.  By the time Autumn has fully settled over the last drifts of summer I’ll start to cheer up again.

It’s just a couple of weeks of listening to those sad little crickets chirruping after all. Soon autumn will move out of transition and I’ll embrace her full seasonal beauty.

McLoughlin's Beach - 90 Mile Beach Gippsland

But right  now these images of days not that long departed  seem just right.

Comments on: "Driftwood" (21)

  1. The shortening of days and passing of seasons often have a similar effect on me, until I pause and I recognize that it’s the very change in the seasons that gives me something new to look forward to each year. As much as I would love to have spring or summer all year, then I’d miss out on the beauty of autumn and winter. I must admit though, your photographs make a walk on McLoughlin’s beach looks very inviting. 🙂

    • You’re spot on Clare, it does signal something new to look forward to 🙂 The weird thing is that I quite enjoy both auntumn and winter, I just find the seasonal change in early to mid autumn a melancholic time…maybe it is just that transitional moment when everything looks old and tired that puts me a little too much in mind of mortality.

  2. Heidi, Great photos. Amazing how a walk along the beach can change your mood and presents lots of things for you to admire.

    Have a wonderful day,
    John

  3. walking on the beach is my cure-all for everything! Lovely beach you have there

  4. Wow, you could make such great ornaments & art from that driftwood! Your 90-mile beach looks a lot like my Rules Beach 🙂

  5. Give me a beach on a sunny day… and it’s simply a piece of Heaven! Your photos would certainly take any melancholy away. They make me wistful!!

    The seasonal transitions here have often felt like a light switch – one minute it’s cold, there is a transition ‘day’, then we jump into the heat. This year is different. It feels like Winter lasted forever..and Spring hasn’t really “committed” itself. (It amazes me that the trees, bushes and plants are growing in spite of the cold, rainy weather!)

    • Hi Shyrlene, sounds like your part of the world is quite different in that respect to mine! The seasons do tend to drift into each other around here and gradually gain momentum. Although this year summer didn’t really take off at all – but you won’t hear me complaining of a lack of 40 c+ plus days!

  6. Dear Heidi, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been feeling a bit down. I guess it’s part of the human condition to feel like this at times. It’s wonderful that you reach out for others through your words and wonderful beautiful poetic shadowy photos. cheers, catmint

    • Hello Catmint 🙂 Really just a little melancholy ‘around the edges’ so to speak. At the end of the day I’ve nothing to complain about (quite the reverse in fact!) but I just seem to feel the changing of the seasons in my bones somehow!

  7. 🙂 Its funny, I’m just the opposite now that I live in a scalding summer place. I do jigs of joy for autumn. When I lived farther north though, I definitely got the blues from the impending sense of death (or whatever)… even before it happened. Its like you could smell it or something.

    • Hiya Jess, yes that’s just it…I think it’s some sort of instinct level reaction that is triggered by that moment where things are clearly coming to the end of their cycle for the year. Luckily nothing sleeps for long here, or I’d be in real trouble!

  8. Heidi, Is that beach really 90 miles long? The mind boggles! I feel some melancholy as the garden starts to wind down (e.g., as the height of daylily bloom goes by), but I also don’t do well in the heat and I love the brisk dry air and bright sunny days of fall. So I guess it’s the dog days of summer that make me feel a bit down, and that fall is the cure. -Jean

    • Hi Jean – yes it is, or some say just over at 94 miles!
      I actually do love autumn too, so my melancholy doesn’t last long. I really think it is just that sense of a faded summer before the beauty of autumn emerges.

  9. Hey there! It’s such an interesting thing to remember that as Spring is revving up here, your gardening season is winding down. Maybe when I’m sad next fall I’ll remember to think about your exciting building over in Oz.

    By the way, I mentioned your blog at the end of my Earth Day post today.

    • Hi Bel, I enjoy the contrast too – right now I’m very much enjoying visiting all the Northern Hemisphere blogs and sharing in everyone’s emerging spring gardens!

      Thanks for the link – that was a lovely thing to do 🙂

  10. What great photos, and they do express the spirit of your post perfectly. I love driftwood. I have a large piece in my front garden which has been there over twenty-five years. I will be sad when it finally rots away.

  11. If you like driftwood you would love McLoughlin’s beach Deb – there are lots of big windswept and sculptural peices dotted all along one section!

  12. Beautiful photos! I’ll have to set one as my background and smile every time I see it.

Leave a Reply

