Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

The nights are turning quite chilly in the Gippy Garden now and the days are a much cooler 14 to 16 degrees celsius. The evenings are drawing in quickly and the time between getting home from work and dusk falling is getting ever shorter.

The good news is that we are getting the occasional clear cool blue day amongst days of lovely soaking rain.

There is a little autumn colour in the garden, but not a big show…just glimpses here and there…

Oak leaves changing... I'm not sure which type of oak it is.

The last of the golden autumn leaves of the river birch.

The only problem now is that my lack of planning for some colour in the garden beyond the brief autumn show is becoming quickly apparent. There are only a few spots of brightness to be found here and there. But bright and cheerful they are and I delight in visiting them whenever I can.

'Hocus Pocus' Pansy catching the last rays of the setting sun.

I’m growing a few pansies and violas from seed, but as they are still tiny, IĀ  haven’t been able to resist buying some older seedlings to brighten the place up a bit. ‘Hocus Pocus’ is a new variety (here at least) this year and so is ‘Pink Fizz’ which I will show you soon when the buds open a bit more.

Bright and cheery little 'Yellow Buttons'

I’m very proud of my Yellow Buttons plant (Helichrysum ramosissimum). It’s as ‘common as muck’ and said to thrive on neglect. The seedling was all but dead when I bought it, so clearly I have been able to provide it with just the right measure of neglect šŸ˜‰

It is a larval food plant for the Australian Painted Lady (Vanessa kershawi) and a few of our skippers, as is the Golden Everlasting below. I haven’t spotted any eggs or caterpillars on either yet, but as there have been a few butterflies fluttering about both plants I think I should probably look a little harder.

Greenish Grass Darts (Ocybadistes walkeri) on the Golden Everlasting (Bracteantha bracteata).

I keep thinking that I’ve seen just about the last of the butterflies for the year, but then we get another sunny day and there are a few more fluttering about the butterfly garden making the most of the remaining blooms. I’ll be enjoying both blooms and butterflies for as long as they last!

Comments on: "Autumn Embracing the Garden" (17)

  1. Bernieh said:

    Definitely sounds like winter is just around the corner down there … just loved that photo of the oak leaf. Autumn colours are, of course, missing from our gardens up here.

    Love your pansy … I’ll be going to the nursery to get some pansy punnets soon. My violas are already blooming … they’re my favourite! I also love the ‘Yellow Button’ … you’ve been neglecting that beautifully … great job!

    Nice to see you’re still getting a few butterflies visiting … there’s still quite a few up here right now as well.

    • Hi Bernie, yes winter is about to sweep her way in – had quite a frost last night – brrrr!
      Can’t wait to see the new pansies in your garden – I can’t get enough of their happy little faces šŸ™‚

  2. I agree, the oak leaves are beautiful! I love your ‘Yellow Buttons’ too. To me, a plant that thrives on neglect, is really just a plant that is very happy with where it’s planted. Around here, life is too short to be spending excess energy on fussy and demanding plants. I gravitate toward plants that thrive on neglect! šŸ˜›

    • Hello Clare – maybe I will now refer to it as a plant that had been carefully planted according to its needs rather that one that does best on neglect šŸ˜‰

  3. So funny to think of you heading into winter while we’re just into high spring here (today it’s windy as all get out which makes me cranky and less inclined to be outdoors so I’ve just come in for coffee and a read. I agree with you: sometimes the most ‘common’ plants are among the best and most delightful, because they’re reliable and tough. Like good friends.

    • Hello Jodi – we get windy springs too – September is the month for seemingly endless wind here that makes my nerves jangle! I hope it abates for you and gives you the chance to enjoy your garden in peace šŸ™‚

  4. Fall leaves already. I love the fall colors but it always saddens me a little to to see the blooms come to an end. But you have some bright blooms yet. The Yellow Buttons are so bright and cheery indeed. It looks like the Everlastings are inviting to little wings too. Green image!
    Lona

    • Hi Lona – I agree autumn is a bit bitter sweet – especially because my garden isn’t planted well for winter – too many bare branches and sad sticks of winter pruned roses will be my lot soon šŸ˜¦
      But it will also be a great time to get out there and start working on brightening it up so it is more cheerful next year. After all, I have no excuse when I live in a land of evergreen and we don’t have the snow blanketed dead of winter that gardeners face in other parts of the world!

  5. As we enter our hot, humid summer, it is refreshing to hear of your autumn! I like your yellow buttons; it sounds like my kind of plant!

    • Hello Deborah, just let me know when you need one and I’ll send a cold breeze your way šŸ˜‰ I think we’re in for our first properly cold and wet winter for years!

  6. It is always interesting to see on the end of the globe the season changes in the opposite way! When the summer is approaching to us quickly (floirda), winter is coming to you! I love that Hocus Pocus, very pretty, did not see it here. Your autumn leaves picture is gorgeous!

  7. Ahhh! Cool weather! I wonder if I’ll ever see that. It seems like it’s been hot here for years. šŸ˜€
    Love those foliage shots. Nice to see the winged buddies finding delight in your garden!

  8. Lovely autumn pictures, everything here in Ireland is now only after waking up after its cold winter sleep.

  9. It’s hard to imagine you are entering fall as we start spring … your photos bring it home. Love those yellow buttons! Pam

    • Hello Ami, Chandramouli, Sunny and Pam šŸ™‚ Sorry about the slow reply – very busy at work lately! I’m enjoying sharing the ‘reverse’ seasons with you all!

  10. roundrockgarden said:

    Wow, what a bonus, two butterflies in one shot! šŸ™‚ It’s hard to believe you’re experiencing autumn as we head into the nineties here in Austin, Texas. But I’m sure you also know all about warm weather down under, huh?

    Autumn has long-been my favorite season. I grew up in the Midwest (Illinois) and really miss seeing the leaves change. Here in Austin it isn’t nearly as exciting! Also about January, I start missing snow so much that I find myself wanting to plan our summer visits to the Rocky Mountains! I hope there’s still some snow left for us when we get there in July!

    Anyway, thanks for sharing a bit of autumn with me!

    • Hello RRG, Yes, we know about the heat here too, even down here in Victoria our summers can get well into the 90s with a few days in the 100s!
      I do like living where I am because we have four distinct seasons and I would miss the autumn colour if I moved too. I hope you share a few photos of your trip to the Rocky Mountains!

Leave a comment