Discovering a hidden haven in the Latrobe Valley, Victoria, Australia

Feeling Seedy

‘Feeling Seedy’ is probably not quite the right expression for how I’m feeling, as in my part of the world when you say ‘I’m feeling a bit seedy’ it usually means you’ve had too much to drink the night before. Or, if you are referring to something as ‘A bit seedy’ you might mean something is of ill repute. I haven’t been out drinking and my repute is intact, I think. But I do feel yuck.

Tiny little Spring Onions getting underway.

I’m referring to seeds only because I’m grasping for a gardening link to feeling run down so I can feel ok about moaning about feeling miserable on a gardening blog. After all, I haven’t been doing much in the garden lately apart from the occasional bit of mooching around and sneezing at the ladybirds. I’ve also sat and stared at a Cabbage White butterfly (Pieris rapae) that came and laid eggs on my rocket seedlings that are barely as big as she is. Cheeky, but intriguing.

The first time I get to see a butterfly laying eggs and it's on my poor little rocket seedlings! Figures!

Just when I thought I was getting over a run of coughs and colds I’ve ended up with a sinus infection that has blown up one side of my face to the point where I look like I’ve been punched in the eye. My face is even slightly bruised. It is every bit as attractive as you are imagining!

The expression ‘I’m feeling under the weather’ is probably moreΒ  appropriate to how I feel. But that’s another weird expression, considering we’re all under the weather wherever we are and however we feel. You never hear anyone saying they feel ‘On top of the weather’ do you?

OK, so I am a little feverish and slightly delirious. Sorry.

Sweet Pea and Hollyhocks. Thanks to Barbara at her blog 'Gardening in Mannheim, Germany' for the transplantable toilet roll tip!

I’m not sure how seeds came to be linked with poor health or reputation at all, given they are such a symbol of potential. But maybe my reference to seeds is not so far off track on this occasion. One thing I have managed to do over the last few weeks is sow a few autumn/winter/I hope it will grow regardless seeds.

When the sun comes out I go and sit next to them to marvel at new life as the seedings emerge and mentally note their daily changes. Watching them grow makes me feel content and that all will be well again soon.

That’s assuming that I don’t wake up tomorrow looking like someone has punched me it the other eye.

Beautiful little Beets went in a little on the late side, but I'm still hoping all will be well

Comments on: "Feeling Seedy" (13)

  1. Awww…I’m sorry you’re not feeling on top of the weather…you’re right, under the weather is an odd one. That cabbage white clearly wanted that rocket all for herself, before anyone else could claim it…including you! Hopefully your sinus infection will disappear quickly, and you get back to enjoying your garden soon.

  2. Poor you! I wish you can recover quickly and enjoy the gardening again. I completely understand how exciting and content to see the little seeds evolving to a gorgeous plant, or even put a beautiful bloom eventually. Take care!

  3. Oh, I am sorry to hear about you feeling under the weather. I do hope your other eye survives tomorrow morning and that you will soon be out and about in the garden again πŸ™‚

  4. aw. feel better. ps. no top of the weather, but we do have ‘top of the morning’ which also makes no sense.

  5. That’s so funny, that the first time you get to see a butterfly laying eggs, it’s on your tiny rocket. Clearly she forsees great things for your crop, and plenty to eat for her babies given a bit of time. I am not even whispering the name of that species around here because so far my cabbages are intact this season. Shhhh! πŸ˜›

    I was just wondering as I read if “seedy” comes from when certain plants go to seed, like my radishes, which currently look like a patch of pretty, wild weeds, so leggy they’re leaning on each other and falling all over the place — rather like very drunken persons.

    I am so sorry you are feeling badly, dear Heidi. My mom struggles with recurring sinus infections, and they are truly awful, making one’s head feel a bit wobbly and disoriented, on top of the miserable cold-like symptoms. Sending you a bit hug and a mug of some steaming hot chicken broth. Get well soon, hon!

  6. Aww Meredith – thanks for your warming and healing thoughts πŸ™‚ I haven’t had a sinus infection like this in years, so it was a bit of a shock when it started up so quickly! Still, if that’s the worst thing I’ve got to complain about then life isn’t too bad is it?!
    You might be onto something with your drunken radishes (I love that image of them all wild and leggy :D) as that sure fits!

  7. Heidi, I am so sorry you don’t feel well. Blogging has so many benefits, including providing a forum for our moans and groans when we are under the weather. Hope you are fully recovered soon. One of your many gardening (and totally sympathetic) friends. Pam x
    PS At least your vegetables, especially the beets, are looking good.

    • Hello Pam πŸ™‚ Thank you for your lovely empathetic words! I think I’m well on the road to recovery now.
      I have been out inspecting the little beets today as I was worried that the cabbage white butterfly might have fancied those for her children too πŸ˜€

  8. roundrockgarden said:

    You can moan all you want, it’s your blog! We really don’t mind at all. I can relate to your sinus issues anyway. Austin allergies are horrific this year – yes, horrific. πŸ™‚ This is the worst I’ve seen it since I moved here 5 years ago. While I’ve never lost my voice before, my allergies this year have triggered a 2-month bout of chronic laryngitis that I am still trying to recover from. It sucks! Anyway, I love the cabbage white. Sorry about the rocket!

    Here’s to a speedy recovery!

    • Hello RRG, I’ve noticed that in some areas of the U.S. people have been talking about a very bad allergy season – sorry to hear that you are in one of the areas where it has been so bad! Two months of laryngitis sounds terrible – puts a couple of weeks of sinusitis into perspective!

Leave a comment